Tea Review // Spring Tonic by Storm in a Teacup

Brand:   Storm in a Teacup
Tea:       Tisane/ herbal, loose-leaf
Name:    Spring Tonic
Cost:      $12/ 50ml

Spring arrived out of nowhere today. The sky turned to a pale hazy blue, the sun morphed into a white-golden blur and the air became thick with the buzz of crickets, birds and cicadas. For the first time in a while, the asphalt warmed my bare feet. Later in the evening, the air is balmy and still, the insects sing, mosquitoes nip at my ankles and moths charge at the window pane.

spring

I’ve been waiting for a magical, light-filled evening such as this to try out a new tea. Several weeks back, I asked my husband, in the midst of a trip to Melbourne, to visit a tea room I had discovered on Instagram. I stumbled across Storm in a Teacup when I searched for the song of the same name. To my delight, the user turned out to be a tea blender and tea room/ bar based in Collingwood, Melbourne (@tea_room_bar).

The tea tasting

Upon opening the packet, I was greeted by the familiar sweet scents of lemon, mint and what can only be compared to as fresh hay. Not only does this tea smell like spring, it looks like spring. Inside, I found a pretty mix of dried green leaves, yellow petals and whole calendulas.

spring2

After steeping the tea for the recommended two minutes, the calendulas literally blossomed in my teapot. The tea sparkled with a golden-sunshine hue. Initially, the taste was sweet with mellow floral undertones. As I swirled it across my tongue, the distinctive yet subtle flavours of lemon balm, clover and calendula emerged. As I set my teacup back down, I was left with the reassuring cooling of spearmint.

The Tea Lady verdict?

A subtle and refreshing herbal tea, perfectly suited to the nurturing season of spring. A fantastically well thought-out blend (created by naturopath Misha Moran) to detoxify and balance the body.

I actually prefer it iced to hot. I steeped the tea for a second time, this time for a little bit longer (3 minutes) and added a couple of lemon slices and fresh mint from the garden. I then placed it in a jug inside the fridge for 3 hours, bottled it and took it to yoga – where it kept me energised and refreshed throughout the class.  A fantastic fitness alternative to water or energy drinks!

Where to buy? Visit Storm in a Teacup online, or if you’re in Melbourne head to their Tea Room and Bar in Collingwood.

spring4 spring3

Leave a comment